Get listed

BigID vs Varonis: discovery catalogs vs open-share blast radius

BigID when you hire discovery and classification with DSPM / privacy bundles (DSAR, RoPA) on Express / Business / Enterprise packages. Varonis when you hire the Data Security Platform for permissions rightsizing, open-share remediation, and data-centric UEBA (DatAdvantage lineage into SaaS DSP).

The classification project finished and the catalog finally shows where customer PII and payroll files live. The next ticket is not another scan: it is an Everyone / Org-wide link on a file share or M365 site that still exposes those rows, plus a privacy-request queue that cannot answer until someone owns the same map. That open-share blast radius and data-owner ticket is the hire this pair answers.

Between these two, BigID packages enterprise discovery and classification as the Discovery Foundation, with DSPM, access, remediation, and privacy bundles (including DSAR and RoPA) on Express / Business / Enterprise packages. Varonis packages the Data Security Platform around classification plus permissions rightsizing, open-share cleanup, and data-centric threat detection (SaaS DSP is the current purchase path; DatAdvantage names the older on-prem lineage). Broader DSPM shortlists sit under DSPM tools; cloud-native DSPM packaging is adjacent on Cyera vs Sentra and Proofpoint DSPM vs Sentra (not this BigID vs Varonis job).

BigID BigIDVaronis Varonis
Primary use caseEnterprise discovery / classification across structured and unstructured stores; DSPM and privacy automation (DSAR, consent, RoPA) on one platformData Security Platform for sensitive-data discovery, least-privilege automation, open-share / exposure reduction, and data-centric UEBA / MDDR
How a bad day closesScan and classify dark / sensitive data; open remediation, labeling, or DSAR workflows; privacy and security owners act from the catalogFind sensitive data that is overshared; right-size permissions and kill stale links; alert on abnormal data access with optional MDDR
Day-to-day workflowConnect sources, tune classifiers, run inventory / DSPM risk views, fulfill data-subject and compliance requestsMonitor exposure dashboards, commit permission fixes, investigate data-centric alerts across SaaS / IaaS / on-prem connectors
DeployMulti-tenant SaaS, single-tenant, self-hosted, or air-gapped; agentless and cloud-native scanning called out on first-party pagesCloud-native SaaS Data Security Platform (primary new buy); self-hosted / hybrid still documented for some hybrid deployments (DatAdvantage lineage)
License/pricingQuote-required on bigid.com (sources, apps, connectors, deployment, support). Packages: Express / Business / Enterprise. Public anchor: AWS Marketplace Discovery Foundation L1 $175,000.00 / 12 months per unit; DSPM and privacy bundles sit above that floorQuote-required; first-party states licensing by user count (not data volume). Public anchors: UK G-Cloud ยฃ221 a user a year; AWS Marketplace lists per-platform units such as Varonis for M365 at $400.00 / 12 months and many SaaS connectors at $310.00 / 12 months (confirm unit definition on the live offer)
Who operates itData security / privacy / GRC owners who need a durable catalog plus DSAR and compliance workflowsData security / IAM / SOC owners who need weekly exposure reduction and data-centric detection on file and SaaS stores

We reviewed BigID pricing and product packaging, Varonis buy / platform pages, AWS Marketplace and UK G-Cloud unit prices, and live community threads the same day (2 Oct 2026). We did not run either product in a paid tenant, so this is not a hands-on benchmark.

BigID

BigID data security and DSPM platform product marketing

Varonis

Varonis Data Security Platform product marketing

BigID’s current first-party packaging signal is Discovery Foundation plus named security and privacy bundles (DSPM = Risk + Remediation + Access Intelligence on published pricing FAQ language) inside Express / Business / Enterprise packages. Varonis’s current packaging signal is the SaaS Data Security Platform with optional Atlas AI security, Interceptor, and Next-Gen DAM; DatAdvantage remains the lineage name for older on-prem / self-hosted deployments rather than the only purchasable column for a new mid-stage buy.

Editions and pricing

Neither vendor publishes a full mid-stage rate card with every module dollar on the marketing site. Procurement still needs a written unit map: BigID sources and bundles versus Varonis users and connector platforms.

BigID BigIDVaronis Varonis
How you buy it nowEnterprise sales; Express / Business / Enterprise packages on one discovery foundation; Marketplace private offers for BigID NextEnterprise sales / partners; SaaS DSP by user and connector; free Data Risk Assessment / trial called out on buy pages; G-Cloud and Marketplace paths for some buyers
Public units (2 Oct 2026)Marketplace lists Discovery Foundation L1 at $175,000.00 / 12 months per unit and says contact BigID for custom pricing. DSPM / privacy bundles are not priced on that single dimensionG-Cloud lists SaaS DSP at ยฃ221 / user / year. Marketplace lists platform dimensions such as M365 $400.00 / 12 months, Box / Salesforce / Slack / Google Drive / Okta $310.00 / 12 months, AWS IaaS $750.00 / 12 months
What the invoice coversDiscovery Foundation coverage for scoped sources plus whatever security / privacy bundles and support tier are on the order formUser-based SaaS DSP subscription plus paid platform connectors (and optional MDDR / Atlas / Interceptor when purchased)
Billing honestyTreat $175,000 as a Discovery Foundation Marketplace floor, not the total for DSPM + DSAR programsTreat ยฃ221 / user / year and Marketplace $400 M365 units as procurement signals; match user count and connector list before comparing to BigID foundation dollars

If procurement needs a published dollar floor this week, BigID’s Marketplace Discovery Foundation $175,000 / 12-month unit and Varonis’s G-Cloud ยฃ221 / user / year (plus Marketplace connector list prices) are the first-party-adjacent cash figures. Do not equate one Discovery Foundation unit with a multi-connector Varonis user deployment without matching scope on the quote.

Discovery, classification, and privacy tickets

BigID BigIDVaronis Varonis
Discovery centerData coverage page groups sources as cloud, SaaS, on-premises, hybrid, structured, unstructured, developer, analytics, collaboration, and AI. That page does not state a connector count. Inventory and labeling sit on the discovery workflowDiscovery page groups sources as structured databases and warehouses, unstructured files, folders, and buckets, and semi-structured SaaS and email, across cloud, SaaS, and data centers. That page does not state a connector count
Privacy / compliance ticketData Rights (DSAR + Deletion), Preferences, Data Mapping (RoPA and PIA) as published privacy bundles on the pricing FAQDiscovery page describes privacy automation as a search that locates files with personal information across cloud and on-prem stores, then filter and share with legal or compliance. A product named DSAR or RoPA was not found on that page in this research
DSPM framingDSPM bundle explicitly listed as Risk + Remediation + Access Intelligence on the Discovery FoundationDSPM called out as posture dashboards and exposure reduction inside the broader Data Security Platform
Main buying considerationWill discovery / classification plus privacy-request automation become the weekly catalog your privacy and data-security teams staff?Will classification-in-service-of-exposure-reduction become the weekly catalog your data-security team staffs?

Scope: one comment on the r/cybersecurity thread opened 22 July 2025, about that person’s demo. The comment says the demo had no way to move data off file shares, restrict access, or clean permissions, and that the writer then chose Varonis. The date is after September 2024, so the comment stays with that scope. It conflicts with BigID’s current remediation page, which describes revoking excessive access and correcting permissions. Read it as that demo. Do not treat it as proof that BigID cannot remediate now, and do not treat Varonis’s current pages as if they erase what the commenter saw.

Data sources, permissions, remediation, and privacy

BigID BigIDVaronis Varonis
Data source coverageData coverage page: cloud, SaaS, on-premises, hybrid, structured, unstructured, developer, analytics, collaboration, and AI. No connector count on that pageDiscovery page: structured databases and warehouses, unstructured files, folders, and buckets, and semi-structured SaaS and email, across cloud, SaaS, and data centers. No connector count on that page
PermissionsData access governance page: who can reach sensitive data, including inherited and excessive permissions, activity, and ownership, used to guide least-privilege workData access governance page: nested groups, permissions, and inheritance across files, sites, mailboxes, S3 buckets, and databases. Admins can revoke risky entitlements
RemediationRemediation page: policy workflows that revoke excessive access, correct permissions, assign ownership, open tickets, and route approvals. The remediation app brief also names delete, mask, redact, revoke, and move. Package scope is still the order formPolicy automation page: policies that remove excessive permissions, public links, stale collaboration links, excessive group memberships, misconfigurations, and inactive users, with a preview before commit
PrivacyData rights page: DSAR, deletion, and correction workflows on discovered personal data, with audit evidence. RoPA and PIA remain the pricing-FAQ names in the discovery tableDiscovery page: a search that locates files with personal information across cloud and on-prem stores, then filter and share with legal or compliance. A product named DSAR or RoPA was not found on that page in this research
Main buying considerationDo you need the catalog and the data-rights workflow, with remediation the current BigID page describes as revoking access and correcting permissions?Do you need permissions cleanup and exposure reduction as the weekly loop, with privacy search rather than a DSAR product name on the discovery page?

Match the weekly ticket to those four rows, read at the same depth. Both current pages describe permissions and remediation. BigID’s remediation page is revoke, correct, and route the workflow. Varonis’s policy page is link removal, entitlement cleanup, and commit. Privacy is the uneven row: BigID names DSAR, deletion, and correction. Varonis’s discovery page names a personal-information search for legal and compliance. A DSAR or RoPA product name was not found there in this research.

Where they overlap

Both compete as commercial data security platforms that discover and classify sensitive data across hybrid environments and sell DSPM-adjacent posture stories. An RFP that only says “best DSPM” will get adjacent demos. The remaining split is BigID’s discovery foundation plus privacy / compliance bundles versus Varonis’s Data Security Platform centered on permissions, open-share remediation, and data-centric detection.

Related cloud-native DSPM packaging sits on Cyera vs Sentra and Proofpoint DSPM vs Sentra. Broader shortlists sit under DSPM tools. Email gateway work is a different hire on Proofpoint vs Mimecast.

When to use both

Running BigID and Varonis as duplicate owners of the same weekly classification queue usually doubles scanner load and conflicting remediation owners. The narrow split that sometimes appears is BigID for privacy-request / RoPA / deep catalog work while Varonis owns file and M365 open-share reduction and data-centric alerts. If one team owns both queues, pick the ticket you will staff every week: privacy and catalog automation versus permissions and blast-radius automation.

Choose BigID when you need enterprise discovery and classification with DSPM / privacy bundles (DSAR, RoPA) on Express / Business / Enterprise packages (treat the AWS Marketplace Discovery Foundation L1 $175,000 / 12-month unit as a foundation procurement signal, not the full negotiated DSPM + privacy total). Choose Varonis when you need the Data Security Platform for permissions rightsizing, open-share blast-radius reduction, and data-centric UEBA / MDDR on user- and connector-based licensing (treat G-Cloud ยฃ221 / user / year and Marketplace M365 $400.00 / 12-month units as procurement signals matched to your user and connector scope).

FAQs

Is BigID the same as Proofpoint DSPM?

No. Proofpoint DSPM is the current label for the former Normalyze product on SecureCoding’s Proofpoint DSPM vs Sentra compare. The BigID vs Varonis pair covers data security / discovery platforms.

Is DatAdvantage still what you buy from Varonis?

For most new purchases, first-party buy pages center the SaaS Data Security Platform licensed by user count. DatAdvantage remains the lineage name for older on-prem / self-hosted deployments and still appears in some API and marketplace documentation. Confirm SaaS versus self-hosted on the order form.

Does BigID publish list prices?

Not a full rate card on bigid.com; pricing is quote-required by sources, connectors, deployment, and support, with Express / Business / Enterprise packages. AWS Marketplace lists Discovery Foundation L1 at $175,000.00 / 12 months per unit (checked 2 Oct 2026). DSPM and privacy bundles sit above that foundation.

Does Varonis publish list prices?

First-party buy pages state licensing by user count without a universal commercial list price. UK G-Cloud lists SaaS DSP at ยฃ221 a user a year. AWS Marketplace lists per-platform units such as M365 at $400.00 / 12 months (checked 2 Oct 2026). Confirm unit definition and connector list on the live offer.

Is this a hands-on bake-off?

No. The comparison uses first-party packaging and pricing docs, Marketplace and G-Cloud unit prices, and community cross-check only. We did not install either product in a paid lab tenant.